Welcome to the Committee on Education

Committee Jurisdiction: Primary jurisdictions are K-12 education generally, certificated employees of schools, school finance, and school facilities.

The committee office is located in the Legislative Office Building, 1020 N Street, Room 159. Office phone number: (916) 319-2087

Below are links to current guidance pertaining to the COVID-19 school closures:

  • April 4 Executive Order to provide expanded access to child care for essential workers.
  • SPI statement regarding the 2019-20 school year
  • SB 117 COVID-19 LEA Response Funds
  • CDE guidance on high school grading and graduation requirements
  • UC, CSU, CCC and independent colleges admissions policies
  • General COVID-19 and Schools FAQs
  • SAT and Advanced Placement information from The College Board
  • Labor-Management agreement on employment issues during closures
  • Weekly updates from CDE:  Send an email to [email protected]
  • SB 117 addresses funding to local educational agencies, suspension of some statutory timelines, among other topics.
  • Official Message from the CDE Director of Special Education (March 23, 2020)
  • USDOE Supplemental Fact Sheet on Special Education (March 21, 2020)


Assembly Member Patrick O'Donnell, Chair

Assembly Member Patrick O’Donnell, Chair of the Education Committee

Assembly Member Kevin Kiley, Vice Chair

Assembly Member Kevin Kiley,
Vice Chair of the Education Committee

Source Article